International Law Studies—Volume 53

THE LAW OF THE SEA:

SOME RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

(With Particular Reference to the United Nations

Conference of 1958)

Carl M. Franklin (Author)

The thoughts and opinions expressed are those of the authors and not necessarily of the U.S.

Government, the U.S. Department of the Navy or the Naval War College.

APPENDIX M

INDEPENDENT OR SEMI-INDEPENDENT STATES ESTABLISHED SINCE WORLD WAR II*

(Prepared by William B. Stern, Foreign Law Librarian, Los Angeles County Law Library, December 23, 1959. Amended for the period 23 December 1959 to 12 May 1961 by the Office of the Judge Advocate General of the Navy.)

Burma (Union of) (Asia) UN, D

Independent Republic, 1948

Cambodia (Asia) UN, D

Independence within the French Union, 1948

Associate State within the French Union, 1949

Financial and economic independence, 1955 Cameroun (French) (Africa) UN, D

Internal autonomy, 1959

Independent Republic, 1960

Central African Republic (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community **, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Ceylon (Asia) UN, D

Independence within the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1948 Chad (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

China (People's Republic) (Asia)

Proclaimed, 1949; not recognized by the United States of America

Congo (Republic of) (Africa) (Brazzaville) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Congo (Republic of the) (Africa) (Leopoldville) UN, D

Independent Republic, 1960

^{*}Explanation of symbols:

UN—Member of United Nations

D—Has diplomatic representation of the United States of America

C—Has consular representation of the United States of America

^{**}The "French Community" was established under the French Constitution of 1958.

Cyprus (Asia) UN, D

Provisional government, 1959

Independent Republic, 1960

Dahomey (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958

Independent Republic, 1960

Eritrea (Africa) C

Locally autonomous unit within the federation of Ethiopia and Eritrea, under Ethiopian sovereignty, 1952

Gabon (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958

Independent Republic, 1960

Ghana (Africa) UN, D

Independent state in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1957

Guinea (Africa) UN, D

Independent Republic, 1958

India (Asia) UN, D

Sovereign democratic republic, a member of the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1950

Indonesia (Asia) UN, D

Sovereign independent republic, 1949

Israel (Asia) UN, D

Independent sovereign republic, 1948

Ivory Coast (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958

Independent Republic, 1960

Jordan (Hashemite Kingdom of, formerly Transjordan) (Asia) UN, D

Sovereign independent state, 1946

Korea (People's Republic of) (Asia)

Republic proclaimed by "Provisional Government," 1948; not recognized by the United States of America

Korea (Republic of) (Asia) D

Independent sovereign republic, 1948

Laos (Asia) UN, D

Independent state within the French Union, 1947

Independent sovereign state within the French Union, 1949

Independent sovereign state, 1954

Libya (Africa) UN, D

Independent sovereign federal kingdom, 1951

Malaya (Federation of) (Asia) UN, D

Sovereign member-state in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1957

Malagasy Republic (formerly Madagascar) (Africa) UN, D Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Mauritania (Islamic Republic of) (Africa) D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Morocco (Africa) UN, D

Independent monarchy, 1956

International status of Tangier Zone abolished, 1956

Niger (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic in the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Nigeria (Federation of) (Africa) UN, D

Self-governing Federation in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1954

Independent Federation, 1960

Pakistan (Asia) UN, D

Dominion in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1947 Islamic Republic, 1956

Philippines (Asia) UN, D

Independence, 1946

Rhodesia and Nyasaland (Federation of) (Africa) C

Largely self-governing, in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1953

Sierra Leone (Africa) D

Independent Republic, 1961

Senegal (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Singapore (Asia) C

Self-governing colony in the British Commonwealth of Nations, 1959

Somali (Africa) UN, D

Italian trusteeship of Somaliland, 1950 Independent Republic, 1960

Sudan (Republic of the) (Africa) UN, D Sovereign independent republic, 1956

Togo (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic in the French Community (under Trusteeship), 1956

Independent Republic, 1960

Tunisia (Africa) UN, D

Sovereign independent monarchy, 1956 Sovereign independent republic, 1957 United Arab Republic (Africa and Asia) UN, D

Formed of Egypt and Syria, 1958

Upper Volta (Africa) UN, D

Autonomous republic within the French Community, 1958 Independent Republic, 1960

Viet-nam (Democratic Republic of) (Asia)

Formed by Vietminh, 1946; not recognized by the United States of America

Viet-nam (Republic of) (Asia) D

Independent within the French Union, 1949

Independence, 1954

The West Indies (Caribbean area) C

The West Indies, Federation in the British Commonwealth of nations, 1958