International Law Studies – Volume 40 International Law Documents U.S. Naval War College (Editor)

The thoughts and opinions expressed are those of the authors and not necessarily of the U.S. government, the U.S. Department of the Navy or the Naval War College.

XVI. Permanent Joint Board on Defense, United States and Canada

(Dept. of State Bulletin, Vol. III, No. 61, August 24, 1940)

The following joint statement was issued by President Roosevelt and the Prime Minister of Canada, W. L. Mackenzie King:

"The Prime Minister and the President have discussed the mutual problems of defense in relation to the safety of Canada and the United States.

"It has been agreed that a Permanent Joint Board on Defense shall be set up at once by the two countries.

"This Permanent Joint Board on Defense shall commence immediate studies relating to sea, land, and air problems including personnel and matériel.

"It will consider in the broad sense the defense of the north half of the Western Hemisphere.

"The permanent Joint Board on Defense will consist of four or five members from each country, most of them from the services. It will meet shortly."

On August 22, 1940, President Roosevelt and Prime Minister Mackenzie King of Canada appointed the following members to serve on the Joint Permanent Board on Defense, United States and Canada, which will hold its first meeting in Ottawa on August 26, 1940:

For the United States:

Hon. Fiorello H. La Guardia, President, United States Conference of Mayors

Lt. Gen. Stanley D. Embick, Commanding the Fourth Corps Area; Headquarters, Atlanta, Ga.

Capt. Harry W. Hill, United States Navy, War Plans Division, Office of Chief of Naval Operations Comdr. Forrest P. Sherman, United States Navy

Lt. Col. Joseph T. McNarney, United States Army Air Corps

Mr. John D. Hickerson, Assistant Chief, Division of European Affairs, Department of State, to be Secretary of the American section of the Joint Board

For Canada:

Mr. O. M. Biggar, K.C.

Brigadier K. Stuart, D.S.O., M.C., Deputy Chief, General Staff

Captain L. W. Murray, R.C.N., Deputy Chief, Naval Staff

Air Commander A. A. L. Cuffe, Air member, Air Staff, Royal Canadian Air Force

Mr. Hugh L. Keenleyside, Counselor, Department of External Affairs, to be Secretary of the Canadian section of the Joint Board